eBook ´ The Hearing TrumpetPaperback Read Ø Leonora Carrington

mobi ☆ The Hearing Trumpet ↠ Leonora Carrington

The Hearing Trumpet One of the first things ninety two year old Marian Leatherby overhears when she is given an ornate hearing trumpet is her family plotting to commit her to an institution Soon she finds herself trapped inside a sinister retire 35 stars The Hearing Trumpet is an exuberantly surreal adventure one which includes such bizarre and spoiler yconsider yourself warned elements as a 92 year old woman sentenced to a most unusual retirement home a mysterious portrait of a winking Abbess a problematic planisphere an untimely death by way of a uestionable carrot a lilac limousine and matching wig auto cannibalism a new ice age plenty of cats werewolves and bees and even the Holy Grail This decidedly peculiar list of ingredients was utilized to great effect; with it Carrington conjured up a truly amusing enchanting concoction On the whole the story was entertaining humorous and charmingly weird I absolutely loved the odd little illustrations scattered throughout the book which were faintly reminiscent of the wonderfully curious drawings of my main man Edward GoreyOverall though I enjoyed this high spirited uirky joyfully inventive romp it was often a little too whimsical for my liking Also in my opinion while the beginning and ending were fun and engaging the middle portion was relatively slow and at times even somewhat dull That said I didn’t dislike the book by any means and would definitely recommend it for fans of fantastic literature and magical realism I just personally prefer the dark unsettling strangeness found in many of Carrington’s paintings

Leonora Carrington ↠ The Hearing Trumpet doc

Marian a book recounting the life of the Abbess a joyous and brilliant surreal adventure begins to unfold Written in the early 1960s The Hearing Trumpet remains one of the most original and inspirational of all fantastic nove A book I've been circling for years even before I joined Goodreads depending what I heard about it sometimes it sounded enticing and light a charming funny Alice like fantasy with intellectual depth sometimes depressing about an old lady in an oppressive nursing home I was finally induced to read it by this recent interview with Olga Tokarczuk in which she says it influenced her newly translated Drive your Plow over the Bones of the Dead Some editions of The Hearing Trumpet including the Virago Modern Classic include a 1991 introduction by Helen Byatt This contains material about crones and witches in surrealism and feminism madness boarding schools occultism including Gurdjieff the Grail and Robert Graves' The White Goddess a book I'm glad I read when I was younger before I knew people rarely bother with it these days as it's referenced in a surprising number of things and vaguely Margaret Murrayish ideas of wild pre Christian matriarchal religion euating maleness with Christianity and authoritarian sky gods generally This did not make me look forward to The Hearing Trumpet itself it made me glad the book was short but it was interesting to have my attention drawn to the ideas about modernity and religion while in the middle of Sarah Moss' Ghost Wall which includes the idea that modernity is better for women and soon after reading a friend's review of yet another book which pointed out the contradictions between feminisms By the end of the book I thought there were topics the introduction had unjustly neglected but of that later If I have read the newer introduction in the Penguin edition by Ali Smith it would have been years ago in a bookshop and I can't remember anything about it I'd like to read it again? nowIn the novel I was surprised how good and how instantly likeable the narrative voice is Marian 92 absolutely sounds like an old lady And like the author she is an English expat in Mexico In the early part of the novel it reads like a really good children's book with delightful lines like people under seventy and over seven are very unreliable if they are not cats on nearly every page Her existence seems idyllic and so one inevitably feels it is unjust that her callous image obsessed son and daughter in law decide to put her in a home Even if one is an age at which peers consider homes for aged parents Although the home turns out to be architecturally adorable and worthy of a surrealist art exhibition and to have intriguing fellow residents the management are a new age cult who continually invalidate and refuse to listen to the people in their care Carrington portrays them with sufficient lightness of touch that they are ridiculous caricatures at least as much as monsters Rather than making a big deal out of the 'reality' or otherwise of what Marian says as many contemporary authors would creating an unreliable narrator who may have dementia or in children's fiction in which a child hero needs to persuade at least one adult that something is real she is a reliable narrator of her own reality a reality which makes up pretty much all the book and which reads as a slipstream fantastical narrative She is always clear other than one passage near the beginning in a stream of consciousness mode like disjointed thoughts from the edge of sleep Even if a reader were to bring a cold and clinical attitude that most of what happens is in Marian's imagination it would surely make one think about the amazing worlds that a person may contain The humour tapers off in the second half or perhaps becomes darker and subtle as the narrative approaches the story within a story an account of a covertly occult 18th century Spanish saint and abbess It reads minor historical inaccuracies and all like an early 20th century horror tale I think it was at the end of the story of Abbess Rosalinda when Marian remarks I had become affectionately attached to the intrepid and energetic Abbess The fact that the snooping priest had done his best to portray her in a pernicious light hardly distorted the purity of her original image She must have been a most remarkable woman that I first thought 'what a twentieth century book' Perhaps it's because of a comment I read somewhere online recently that only from a century's 20s does the character of a century start to emerge there are counter arguments but in English history the late 30s of the 16th and 19th centuries fit and sufficient distance is established to characterise the earlier century as a whole Approbation of the Abbess disregards her own crimes and her disregard of those committed by others I've seen it said elsewhere with disgust that sexual abuse especially of boys by male clergy was such an open secret that it had become a running joke in 20th century British literature and one that should no longer be funny Perhaps that's an especially 2010s sentiment it's far too early to tell But in the context of fantasy literature it feels like this is another way in which this isn't just a very 1960s 1970s book but encompasses ideas that ran through decades either side the lineage from the Golden Dawn through Gardnerian Wicca to the New Age; from Kellogg's sanatorium to dodgy hippie cults; elderly people talk of the First World War and have peculiar deference to aristocracy in a world of plastic wallpaper and electric fires with glowing fake logs and on one level it's about social liberalisation and increased human rights and the throwing off of a stuffy old order the big Western narrative of the whole second half It still seems remarkable that Carrington apparently wrote this in the early 60s if only she'd published it then she'd have been so ahead of her time and I suspect the book would have been better known It's full of stuff which feels like end 60s burnout indictment of cults and their leaders jumping off tall buildings and dying under the influence of hallucinogenic drugs; apocalyptic tabloid scare of the time a new ice age also fictionalised with flair by Anna Kavan as well as the playful psychedelic exuberance of a couple of years earlier and the principles of Szasz and LaingThere's uite a lot of upper middle class Englishness here though Leonora is rather remarkably nothing at all to do with Dora Carrington of the Bloomsburies but I'd love to hear well anything about The Hearing Trumpet in the context of Latin American art lit Byatt describes Carmella's repeated mentions of firearms as masculine but I thought them likely to relate to the prevalence of revolutions coups and armed rebels in the region I haven't read enough Latin American myself to say exactly what's relevant but it does feel like there's something connectable in The Hearing Trumpet to the magic realism and tricksiness of the Boom The line drawn illustrations in this edition by the author's son are in a style uite different from the cover painting hers and are not my sort of thing but may appeal to fans of David Shrigley and Allie Brosh I've rated it 4 stars rather than 5 unlike many GR friends because I didn't find the joy in it that makes a 5 star read due to the setting but it is absolutely a wonderful little book that deserves to be widely read

mobi The Hearing Trumpet

eBook ´ The Hearing Trumpet Paperback Read Ø Leonora Carrington ã One of the first things ninety two year old Marian Leatherby overhears when she is given an ornate hearing trumpet is her family plotting to commit her to an institution Soon she finds herself trapped inside a sinister retirement home whMent home where the elderly must inhabit buildings shaped like igloos endure twisted religious preaching and eat in a canteen overlooked by the mysterious portrait of a leering Abbess But when another resident secretly hands Here's the cover of the 1977 Pocket Books mass market I have 192 pages which isn't listed at the moment