FREE PDF ☆ BOOK The Reaper ò STEVEN DUNNE

Steven Dunne ☆ The Reaper READER

FREE PDF ☆ BOOK The Reaper ò STEVEN DUNNE È A damaged detectiveA case he’s trying to forgetA killer who won’t let himDetective Inspector Damen Brook thinks he's left his past behind him in London But it seems a serial killer has followed him northBrook's seeking sanctuary Years in the MET have left their mark so much so thaY nearly his sanity to wind down a once promising career in the peace of the Peak DistrictBut one winter's night Brook is confronted by a serial killer he hunted many years before The Reaper a man who slaughters families in their homes then disappears without a traceTo find this killer Brook must discover what the Reaper is doing in Derby why he's started kill This is a series that I was always going to get round to as I bought this book way back in August 2015 along with other books that just kept getting added to my ever growing TBR pile of kindle titles Now although I should be one book down on my TBR pile I am actually 5 up because if this is Steven Dunne’s debut novel then the rest of the series are high priority must readsI have always been intrigued by a man who has a hidden past and there was something than just a new start to DI Damen Brook when he moved from London to Derby Well it wasn’t too long before the dark shadow that followed him began to make its mark in the town The Reaper a terrible serial killer had laid dormant for a number of years after a horrific killing spree in London was at his heels and killing again on his new patchOh my Oh my this killer really likes to play catch me if you can taunting Brook and keeping one step a head of the game that he is clearly controlling The killings themselves were works of art macabre master pieces that told a story by their staging My mind was in overdrive of how someone could not only murder children but also cause such unbearable mental torture for the parentsThis is by no means a uick read story as it is longer than your average book but I read it in one session totally mesmerised by visions of ecstasy and horror and the fine line where one crosses the other in the killers mind Steven Dunne had created a killer that held me on every page like the head lamps of a car does a rabbit I just couldn’t take my eyes from these pagesThe story took turns that I just was not expecting just totally sensational Full on real feel characters with the good guys have flaws and the bad guys principles making it an unpredictable and totally addictive read And I know that I have only just begun to scratch the surface of DI Damen Brook Bring it on Just perfection

MOBI ↠ ☆ Steven Dunne

Ing again and what if anything connects the butchered familiesAs Brook becomes entangled in a deadly game of cat and mouse he is forced to face his own demons by confronting a past that destroyed his family and destroyed his family and nearly cost him his lifeA heart stopping thriller from a stunning new crime talent for fans of Stuart MacBrie and Thomas Harri Starts of as a tour de force crime story centred around DI Damen Brook newly moved to Derby from the Met It would appear that Brook is not the only person to have settled in Derby for when a family is murdered the case bears all the hallmarks of The Reaper a killer that Brook previously failed to apprehend in London and is now terrorizing him anew in the beautiful Derbyshire peak district The first half of the story is very readable a cat and mouse game with Brook relying for advice from his old colleague and former boss retired policeman now sadly alcoholic Charlie RowlandsHis back was no longer straight as a ramrod but curved and compressed He'd lost weight as well as the last of his hair and he was painfully thin His face was bright and robust however as the faces of drunks often are The red tinge around the high cheekbones and nose mimicked a rosy sheen of health But the eyes had it as always That look of sunken pain which repelled slumber There are the usual trade marks for a copper unable to divide his home and work time resulting in marriage breakup with Amy and a fragmented association with his daughter Terri There is also some wonderful dialogue exchanges and observations a richness in the descriptive language that somewhat complements the ongoing and procedural side of the storyUnattainable pleasures were to be avoided at all cost The emotional epidermis of this male was pocked with enough woundsShe was what the politer elements in the division referred to as a handsome woman To the less polite elements this meant that while her looks wouldn't make you vomit neither were they likely to induce an erectionThe sewer he'd been trying to flee for nearly twenty years had taken root inside himAn old man in a hovel clinging to the illusion of life and companionship only a cat to care whether he lived or died Mac was The Ghost of Christmas Future Book had dropped in on his own barren existence twenty years onDeath with dignity sat in their corner waiting listening and appreciating But the use and flow of language no matter how good and entertaining cannot conceal for me the cracks that appear in this long protracted and frankly boring crime procedural I do not agree with reviews that declare The Reaper was dreadful and extremely poor but in the final analysis it had little to offer that was new in this crowded genre Too much dialogue in the second part of the book made me feel that a good editing would greatly have added to the reading experience I do however close this review with a certain amount of jealousy as a burned out DI still retains the ability to attract the attention of the voluptuous WPC Wendy Jones or perhaps it was the action of a dirty old man taking advantage of a junior and much younger police officer in his place of work for in Brooks own wordsWendy Jones was still an innocent abroad a provincial girl with an endearing ignorance of the world as a dung heap

READER The Reaper

The ReaperA damaged detectiveA case he’s trying to forgetA killer who won’t let himDetective Inspector Damen Brook thinks he's left his past behind him in London But it seems a serial killer has followed him northBrook's seeking sanctuary Years in the MET have left their mark so much so that he's fled to Derby leaving behind his marriage his teenage daughter and ver The Reaper and the rest of the series was recommended to me by a number of my friends Due to these recommendations I bought the first book in the series If I’m completely honest I did put off reading this for uite a while as I often struggle to get excited about crime novels especially police procedural ones which can often have too many characters to keep track of and don’t always delve deep enough into my psyche to satisfy me However The Reaper was surprisingly good I found myself getting emotionally involved and it was very hard to put down hence me reading it in only a couple of daysI really liked the character of Detective Inspector Damen Brook He wasn’t perfect had family issues and shared my experience of insomnia He had depth to his character and just the right balance of imperfections and issues to make him feel real and believable I rarely grow attached to the main characters in crime novels and I think this may be why I fail to get excited about the next book in a series but already I’m wondering what Damen will be involved in throughout book two and beyondThe way Damen conversed with a particular bad character in this book definitely made me think of Hannibal Lecter The character was intelligent and as a huge fan of Silence of the Lambs I enjoyed the slight resemblance to how I believe Hannibal Lecter would have behaved in the same situation I was glued to my Kindle screen with my heart beating a little faster than normal eager to discover what would happen The Reaper gets a very good 4 stars from me and I highly recommend it to fans of crime and police procedural novels You don’t want to miss out on this series