FREE MOBI ↠ DOC A Sky Painted Gold 9781407180205 ¹ LAURA WOOD

DOC Ý A Sky Painted Gold ↠ Laura Wood

D is there something darker lurking at the heart of the Cardew family?A gorgeously dreamy coming of age romance set against a stunning Gatsby esue backdrop this is perfect for fans of I Capture the Castle and Eva Ibbotson I can't not say this As soon as I hear historical fiction I think boring stuff from years and years ago with stuffy characters and too much historical facts mentioned I can't help it School gave me this aversion when it comes to history and it has obviously sneaked into my reading preferences as wellIn saying that though I have to admit all those things did not bother me one bit I even dare say there isn't even mention of one big historical event in A Sky Painted Gold For some people this is probably a well doh not all his fics are like that type of thing but to me it was enlightening?One thing I expected I also got and loved beautifully descriptive writing That is one thing I adore in books and I guess it's one of those things a historical book needs in my opinion?Let's talk characters and content Our main character Louise is a writer and a romantic at heart Since the entire book is written from her POV I was so happy to feel connected to her I understood her passion understood her curiosity and was all too eager to see where she would end up and how she'd experience the glamorous life of the eliteAs for Caitlin and Robert? Definitely was intrigued right from the bat She obviously struggles with past events and he had this mysterious air throughout the entire book Loved itContent wise I definitely had some The Great Gatsby vibes at times The three uotes from that book throughout A Sky Painted Gold probably helped that along as well but still The whole huge house in the distance thing with a wealthy family a lot of secrets It just gave me those vibes you know? Also the parties The drinks The descriptionsOh and there's also mention of how people looked at colored skin back then which I thought was a lovely addition to be honest Could've been a bit pronounced but still I'm glad it was there and acknowledgedThere's only one tiny issue I had and once it's related to that specific topic I'm known to mention Alcohol One of the character is dealing with a lot is obviously drinking way too much and way too often Yet again it isn't really taken care off by the end of the book? I wish it was addressed at some point That would've made this book perfectOverall I definitely enjoyed my dip of the toes into historical fiction I loved the descriptive writing the slow burn romance the intrigue Everything Well except for that one thing45 5

KINDLE A Sky Painted Gold

A Sky Painted GoldGrowing up in her sleepy Cornish village dreaming of being a writer seventeen year old Lou has always wondered about the grand Cardew house which has stood empty for years And when the owners arrive for the summer a hands A Sky Painted Gold was a joy from start to finish and exactly what I needed after seven agonising weeks in the worst reading slump I’ve ever been in The book follows Lou a Cornish girl who has never known anything other than the small community she’s grown up in When the summer of 1929 rolls in Lou gets caught up in the lives of the Cardew siblings who aren’t strangers to the glitz and glamour of parties not unlike those seen in The Great Gatsby It’s about coming of age discovering who you are and finding out exactly what it is you want in lifeI was immediately struck by Laura Wood’s gorgeous breath taking prose It can be a tricky thing to get right I’ve read many similar YA books that lean towards pretension yet what is so skilful about A Sky Painted Gold is that Lou’s awe at the new world she’s been invited to — and arguably her naïveté — mean that you too get caught up in it From the moment she enters the Cardew house Lou’s journey is the reader’s journey and the tone and style of the book perfectly fit her narrative voice I loved how the theme of being in somebody’s shadow was explored both in the relationship of Lou and her sister Alice and in the glitzy world of the Cardew’s Coupled with this my favourite aspect other than the romance was undoubtedly the exploration of how one life may be ideal for someone yet undesirable to someone elseMost YA books feature romance in them now and so I often find it difficult to differentiate between them in my mind A Sky Painted Gold however featured so many of my favourite tropes the lingering hand hold the “pfft I don’t really like him” moments catching each other’s eyes and looking away It was truly like watching the best period drama which always manage to create a swoon worthy yet sweet atmosphere and I would like multiple spin offs and novellas and short stories or even a full seuel because I can’t bear to let the characters go It’s also worth nothing that although not a major plot point Wood manages to effortlessly incorporate LGBT relationships which I wish was seen in historical fiction It felt very normalised and didn’t go down the “shameful” route which always makes me happy to seeI’ve fallen head over heels in love with A Sky Painted Gold at a time when I was seriously uestioning whether I could fall head over heels in love with a book again Laura Wood is a new favourite UKYA author and I really hope A Sky Painted Gold’s success reinvigorates the historical YA fiction genre Not just for fans of YA but also for fans of The Great Gatsby Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca and anyone who loves the will they won’t they romance of Pride and Prejudice

Laura Wood ↠ A Sky Painted Gold KINDLE

FREE MOBI ↠ DOC A Sky Painted Gold 9781407180205 ¹ LAURA WOOD º Growing up in her sleepy Cornish village dreaming of being a writer seventeen year old Lou has always wondered about the grand Cardew house which has stood empty for years And when the owners arrive for the summer a handsome dashing brother Ome dashing brother and sister Lou is uite swept off her feet and into a world of moonlit cocktail parties and glamour beyond her wildest dreamsBut as she grows closer to the Cardews is she abandoning her own ambitions An I really enjoyed this It's a good fun read and conjures the historical time period uite well I didn't completely adore the ending it all felt a bit too neat to me but I expect that's because it's aimed at a younger audience