Your Own Worst Enemy Reader é 448 pages

Gordon Jack Ä Your Own Worst Enemy Reader

Your Own Worst Enemy Reader é 448 pages Ö Three candidates three platforms and a whirlwind of social media gaffes and protests makes for a ridiculous and hilarious political circus in Gordon Jack’s second highly satirical novel Perfect for fans of Andrew Smith and Frank PortmanThey say that with great power comes great responsibility UPace Cow chocolate milk he can stomach But when his favorite beverage is banned at school a freshman political “mastermind” convinces Tony to become the voice of the little guy But what kind of voice is that really?If this were an ordinary high school election the winner would be whichever candidate was the most popular But this year each candidate may have to sink to a new low to win an election that could change the course ofvery little At a time when we all need a respite from ugly national politics along comes Your Own Worst Enemy a hilarious satire about a high school election I adored this book and could not put it down Gordon Jack is one of the funniest and talented YA writers out there The characters vying for class president include Stacey the frontrunner and traditionalist; Julia the newcomer with a secret who throws Stacey off what was assumed to be a clear path to victory; and Tony a stoner who just wants chocolate milk in the cafeteria The hijinks start right away with a vandalized campaign banner and as in real life we read that this might be a false flag ploy by the candidate whose banner was defaced The chapters are told in alternating points of view which I found fascinating as we got multiple perspectives on the same event I also appreciated the structure of this book; its sections were labeled with titles like Endorsements Opposition Research and Attack Ads giving us a behind the scene look at what it takes to run a political campaign in high school — and it’s not just cupcakes and banners One of the most endearing characters was Brian Stacey’s closest friends and her campaign manager Brian is torn between his long friendship with Stacey and his budding romance with Julia and his situation only gets fraught when his younger brother an avid Tony supporter stoops to espionage Aside from dirty politics the books deals with important issues such as racial and sexual identity as well as socioeconomic differences and white privilege in what seems to be a fairly affluent public high school The outcome of the election is a mystery until the very end and I won’t spoil it But I have to say that thanks to many laugh out loud moments and clever plot twists Your Own Worst Enemy leaves you feeling lightened and hopeful If teenagers can find a way to navigate a bitter election and come out stronger engaged and tolerant than before its start then maybe there’s hope for some sort of renewed civil discourse in these divisive times

Pdf ↠ Your Own Worst Enemy Ä Gordon Jack

Three candidates three platforms and a whirlwind of social media gaffes and protests makes for a ridiculous and hilarious political circus in Gordon Jack’s second highly satirical novel Perfect for fans of Andrew Smith and Frank PortmanThey say that with great power comes great responsibility Unless you’re student body president at Lincoln High School Then you get all the responsibility but none of the power And the three candidates runni Weirdly poignant and perfectly hilarious Gordon Jack is one of my new favorite authors His voice is authentic and uniue and his writing style is something to be rivaled in its rhythm and realistic twists Your Own Worst Enemy is definitely a novel for our generation capturing the complexities and confusions of Gen Z in the best way possible the crazy political world we’re being forced to grow up in

Doc Your Own Worst Enemy

Your Own Worst Enemy Ng for president know all about thatStacey Wynn is the front runner but she didn’t count on Julia Romero entering this race Julia is challenging Stacey for the title while also putting the moves on Stacey’s campaign adviser and only friend Brian And then there is Tony Guo the way outsider Tony is usually oblivious to the school’s political campaigning as he’s oblivious to anything that isn’t about getting high and drinking all the S Here’s some change I can believe inMake America baked againI devoured this book in less than a day I could not put this down It was clever and witty that I found myself laughing so hard that tears formed But it also contained some serious subjects that made you look at the real world and what we’re currently dealing with This was still a really fun read It makes you reminisce about the clown show we had to deal with with the last election This was a lot enjoyable since this was fictitious The banter between the opponents was hilarious and a tad bit out there But they were all enjoyable in their own way Tony has to be my favorite character I mean come on I’ll never look at the bear shaped honey bottle the same way ever again Gordon Jack is a genius To take something that is still a tough issue to discuss and brings this creative pieces into our lives is beyond astronomical And to perfectly get Stacey’s attitude and personality onto paper was amazing We are uite the special species and this book will fill you in With boner jokes than you ever could imagine and a deep heartfelt look at unity this book is definitely a must read Maybe people will learn how to be beautiful human beings towards one another