PDF Ð BOOK Ascent (Peak #3)

EBOOK Ascent (Peak, #3)

PDF Ð BOOK Ascent (Peak, #3) ï A few months after returning from Afghanistan Peak Marcello is in Myanmar visiting Alessia Myanmar has been in the grips of a brutal military regime for than fifty years but recently the government has allowed tourists to enter   While there Peak is invited to climb Hkakabo Razi one of the most isolated mountains in tNvolve a four week trek through tropical rain forests rife with hazards from venomous reptiles and leeches to corrupt police and military In the end summiting Hkakabo Razi may be the easiest thing Peak does The third installment of the Peak Marcello adventure did not disappoint Like the first two books Peak sets off on a climbing expedition This climb he has reunited with Alessia and Ethan 6 months after their harrowing experience in the Pamirs book 2 The three teammates and friends venture through a thick jungle on their way to climb the mysterious and isolated Hkakabo Razi in Myanmar Along the way they meet trustworthy friends murderous opportunists and demanding military police officers After another near death experience Peak ends up getting to the mountain but not in the way or with whom he expected The story ends half way through leading this reader to believe the second half of this journey will be a Peak book 4 Here's to hoping

KINDLE å â Roland Smith

A few months after returning from Afghanistan Peak Marcello is in Myanmar visiting Alessia Myanmar has been in the grips of a brutal military regime for than fifty years but recently the government has allo Copy provided by Young Adult Books CentralAfter their disastrous climb in The Edge Ethan Alessia and Peak are looking for some adventure that is a bit safer Ethan is now Alessia's bodyguard appointed by her mother who is now the ambassador to Myanmar When they learn about Hkakbo Razi an alpine mountain on the border with China they are intrigued especially since it's never been accurately measured It seems like an uncomplicated journey so they take off but soon run into trouble They have a porter Lwin and his elephant but both of them are unreliable and a little bit dangerous When Alessia has to spend some time in a village fighting malaria the group runs into Nick Freestone a botanist who is collecting samples In exchange for the climbers' help in obtaining samples from trees he offers to take them to the mountain They let Lwin go but he's not happy and soon the military is on the group's tail looking for Lwin who had killed his girlfriend with a sling shot and stolen the elephant They manage to pay them off and get on their way Freestone visits a friend who is a trader and this friend take Peak to visit a high powered somewhat shady but ultimately decent businessman Chin He was also a mountain climber and offers them a new battery for their satellite phone and help if they run into an emergency There are no shortage of challenges on the trail sabotaged bridges a reappearance of Lwin but also some unexpected help from old friends When they reach the mountain after their difficulties there is still plenty to overcome even when Peak's father makes a surprise appearance Will all of them survive what turns out to be a treacherous climb than is expected?I don't have any desire to ever climb a mountain or travel in space and books like these are part of the reason why Smith has so many fantastic sometimes gross details of how hard an experience this would be From being eaten alive by bugs in the rain forest to having to eat bugs and the occasional roasted python Ascent is a vivid description of parts of the world students will probably never travel I have to say that I side with Peak I'd still be wearing long nylon pants hoping that it keeps me from getting even bug bites Peak's struggles with his past especially letting another climber pass him in Peak and the precarious relationship he has with his father add a layer of emotional depth that will appeal to slightly older readers His sweet off and on romance with Alessia as well as their support of one another through difficult times is also a nice touch The different groups that the climbers run into are interesting as well from corrupt Burmese soldiers who take bribes as a matter of course to Chin whose help ends up being invaluable to old friends from the past who show up for mysterious reasons In some ways it's unlikely that Peak would run into so many of them but some like the father of one of the PEACE climb members who died add a nice sense of closure and make for a very rich storyThe first Peak Marcello adventure Peak came out in 2007 and has been a huge hit every year with my readers I'm going to need to buy yet another copy because it is worn out With this third book Peak's adventures have become a series that readers who love Gilman's The Devil's Breath and Pam Wither's books about extreme sports will go through at a pace fast enough to outrun an avalanche

Roland Smith â Ascent (Peak, #3) READER

Ascent Peak #3 Wed tourists to enter   While there Peak is invited to climb Hkakabo Razi one of the most isolated mountains in the world to discover the exact elevation of the mountain But getting to the mountain will i AscentRoland SmithDate Finished 101418Ascent by Roland Smith is an adventure book and the third book in the Peak Marcello Adventure series Soon after returning from Afghanistan Peak Marcello travels to Myanmar to visit Alessia When he first arrives he does not plan on climbing a mountain When he is invited to climb Hkakabo Razi he gladly accepts and he Alessia and Alessia’s bodyguard set out to climb Hkakabo Razi When they set out to climb the mountain they meet many challenges along the way but meet family and friends along the way This book is very well written and has a very diverse characters This is shown because Peak has a personality of always trying his best and being a leader when others need him to be and Alessia has a personality of caring for others and always leaving things better than she found them There is also a major theme of perseverance in this book as well as the previous two books in the series This is because they are trying to climb a mountain and run into many obstacles along the way but keep pushing and eventually Peak makes it to the summit